2020 CFUW Award Winner

Afnan Farooqui, an honours student in the Department of History and Classics, is the 2020 recipient of the CFUW Award for her scholarly work, “Where is the Glory: African American Women Reformers and the Struggle for Freedom in the Progressive Era.” The paper examines the role of African American clubwomen during the Progressive era, particularly their influence and role in black activism and the struggle for enfranchisement of black women. By examining organizations such as the National Association for Colored Women (NACW) and figures such as Ida B. Wells and Mary Church Terrell, Farooqui expertly guides the reader to consider the nature of African American women reformers’ resistance.

Two other finalists were also recognized for their excellent scholarly submissions: Sami Mackenzie (WGST, Sociology) for her paper, “Trying to Find a Modern Way: Religious Practices and Acts of Resistance Among Queer Feminist Christian Women,” and Erin Norris (Psychology) for her paper, “Into the Unknown: Exploring the Association Between Uncertainty and Intimate Partner Violence.” The adjudication committee was greatly impressed by the quality and breadth of all twelve submissions received.

In its fifteenth year, the Canadian Federation of University Women Award recognizes excellence in Women's and Gender Studies scholarship. It is made possible by the financial support of the Wolfville Chapter of the Canadian Federation of University Women.

CFUW Adjudication Committee Members
Dr. Erin Crandall, WGST & Politics
Dr. Anne Quéma, English and Theatre
Dr. Chelsea Gardner, History and Classics
Dr. Kait Pinder, English and Theatre

Go back